Staffordshire rugby teams have 2021/22 divisions and provisional start date confirmed

Competitive rugby is set to return 18 months after it ceased due to Covid

After more than a year without competitive action, rugby teams across Staffordshire have been given a date for when the game hopes to return.

Non-elite rugby had its 2020/21 season cancelled amid the ongoing pandemic.

The last time competitive rugby took place at this level was in March 2020.

However, the Midlands RFU has announced that it is aiming for a September start for the 2021/22 season.

Divisions with 13 and 14 teams will look to start on September 4.

Those with 12 and fewer outfits will start on September 25.

The league campaign, all being well, will finish by the end of April 2022 before the season concludes with the County Championship final on June 4.

The Midlands RFU also confirmed the teams that will make up each division in the Midlands League Tree.

Burton will face Bridgnorth, Broadstreet, Bromsgrove, Doncaster Phoenix, Dudley, Kingswinford and Newport Salop in the Midlands Premier.

Nuneaton, Oundle, Paviors Sandbach, Scunthorpe, Sheffield and Syston will join them.

Related stories

In Midlands 1 West, Lichfield and Stoke meet Droitwich, Hereford, Kenilworth, Ludlow, Malvern and Newbold-on-Avon.

They are joined by Old Halesonians, Stratford-upon-Avon, Sutton Coldfield, Whitchurch, Wolverhampton and Worcester.

The Midlands Premier and Midlands 1 West both have 14 teams so start on September 4.


Staffordshire clubs in 12-team divisions

Midlands 2 West North contains no less than six Staffordshire teams.

Leek, Stafford, Longton, Newcastle, Tamworth and Uttoxeter make up half of the division.

Camp Hill, Crewe & Nantwich, Moseley Oak, Old Saltleians, Stourbridge Lions and Walsall make up the rest.

Eccleshall, Burntwood and Linley & Kidsgrove will play in Midlands 3 West.

There seems to be light at the end of the tunnel for non-elite rugby

Their opponents are: Aldridge, Clee Hill, Cleobury Mortimer, Edwardian, Handsworth, Harborne, Shrewsbury, Telford Hornets and Veseyans.

In Midlands 4 West North, Rugeley, Barton-under-Needwood and Trentham will vie for top spot against Aston Old Edwardians.

They also will compete against Birmingham Exiles, Essington, Market Drayton, Oswestry, Warley, Wednesbury, Willenhall and Yardley & District.

READ ALSO: Leek RUFC appoints familiar face as new head coach

Finally, Cannock, Stone and St Leonards will line up in Midlands 5 West South.

Atherstone, Birmingham & Solihull, Bishops Castle & O.V, Bloxwich, Five Ways Old Edwardians, Greyhound, Keresley, Redditch and Stourport-on-Severn will be their counterparts.

Midlands 2, 3, 4 and 5 contain 12 teams who will start on September 25.

Fixtures for all divisions are due to be released during the summer.

Click to follow Sport in Staffs for all our latest articles on:

1 thought on “Staffordshire rugby teams have 2021/22 divisions and provisional start date confirmed

  1. Hi!
    Thanks for the brilliant news coverage of rugby in Staffordshire!
    One question about this article.
    Why have some clubs been highlighted in bold and others haven’t please?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.