Leagues to be split in two when rugby returns

By Isaac Johnson

The RFU has announced that its leagues from Level 3 to Level 12 will be split into two groups based on geography when the sport resumes and the new season commences.

The sports body has reiterated that no start date for the 2020/21 campaign has been set but it has explained what shape the season will take once it does get underway.

‘Window 1’

Each division will be split in half where each team will play other teams in the same group as them home and away, with a provisional start date of September 5 (all dates are subject to change).

If a return to action has not been green-lighted prior Round 6 of these fixtures, which has been dated October 10, then the first day of the new season will be started with the matches scheduled for Round 6, whatever date that may be.

Rounds 1-5 will then be played after Round 14 to complete the first ‘window’.

An example produced by the RFU

‘Window 2 & 3’

Dates for a second and third window will be allocated once competitions are allowed to start.

A second window would see each team play the teams in the other group in that league once, either home or away.

If there is enough time then a third window will be played which will see the reverse of these fixtures.

If only Window 1 can be played

If there is not enough time for neither the second or third window to be played then the leaders of both groups in a league will compete for the title in a play off.

The RFU has not yet made a decision on promotions and relegations or any cup competitions.

The RFU is full prepared for when rugby returns once again

The groups for each Staffordshire rugby team is as follows


Conference A: Burton; Doncaster, Paviors, Sandbach, Scunthorpe, Sheffield, Syston.

Conference B: Bridgnorth, Broadstreet, Bromsgrove, Dudley Kings, Newport (Salop), Nuneaton, Oundle.


Conference A: Lichfield, Ludlow, Old Halesonians, Stoke-on-Trent, Sutton Coldfield, Whitchurch, Wolverhampton

Conference B: Droitwich, Hereford, Kenilworth, Malvern, Newbold-on-Avon, Startford-upon-Avon, Worcester.


Conference A: Crewe & Nantwich, Leek, Longton, Newcastle (Staffs), Stafford, Uttoxeter

Conference B: Camp Hill, Moseley Oak, Old Saltleians, Stourbridge Lions, Tamworth, Walsall.


Conference A: Clee Hill, Cleobury Mort, Eccleshall, Linley & Kidsgrove, Shrewsbury, Teflord Hornets

Conference B: Aldridge, Burntwood, Edwardian, Handsworth, Harborne, Veseyans


Conference A: Essington, Market Drayton, Oswestry, Rugeley, Trentham, Willenhall

Conference B: Aston Old Eds, Barton-under-Needwood, Birmingham Ex., Warley, Wednesbury, Yardley & District.


Conference A: Birmingham & Solihull, Bishops Castle, Five Ways OE, Greyhound, Redditch, Stourport

Conference B: Atherstone, Bloxwich, Cannock, Keresley, St Leonards, Stone

For full scheduled fixtures, click here.

Click to follow Sport in Staffs for all our latest articles on:

1 thought on “Leagues to be split in two when rugby returns

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.